Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners List and Khel Ratna Winners details



India's Highest sports award Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winner List of Indian, Players from various sports

Vishwanathan Anand is the first person who conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for outstanding achievement in Chess in 1991-92.

Geet Sethi conferred for his success in Billiards in 1992-93 and to the due of Cdr. Homi Motivala & Lt. Cdr. Pushpendra Kumar Garg in Yachting (team) in 1993-94.

Karnam Malleswari for weightlifting (1994-95), later she went on to win the Bronze medal in Olympics.

In 1995-96, Nameirakpam Kunjarani for weighting, Leander Paes conferred with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award for Tennis (1996-97).

Sachin Tendulkar conferred the award for achievement in Cricket in 1997-98. Apart from that he also won the highest Civilian award Bharat Ratna.

Jyotirmoyee Sikdar for Athletics (1998-99), Dhanraj Pillay for superb achievement in Hockey (1999-2000), Pullela Gopichand for Badminton (2000-01).

Abhinav Bindra conferred Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for shooting (2001), he also won Gold Medal for India in 2008 Olympics.

Anjali Bhagwat for Shooting & K.M Beenamo for Athletics (2002), Anju Bobby George for Athletics (2003).

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore won Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for achievement in shooting (2004), after winning silver Medal in Olympics.

Pankaj Advani only sports person who won Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for his extraordinary success in two different games Billiards and Snooker (2005).

Manavjit Singh Sandhu honored the award for achievement in shooting (2006), Mahendra Singh Dhoni for immense success in cricket (2007).

Mary Kom & Vijender Singh for Boxing and Sunil Kumar for wrestling (2009), Sania Nehwal for Badminton (2010), Gagan Narang for shooting (20011).

Vijay Kumar for Shooting and Yogeshwar Dutt for Wrestling (2012), Ronjan Sodhi for Shooting (2013), Sania Mirza for Tennis (2015).

In 2016, P.V. Sindhu for Badminton, Dipa Karmakar for Gymnastics, Jitu Rai for Shooting and Sakshi Malik for Wrestling,

Devendra Jhajharia for Para Athlete and Sardara Singh for Hockey (2017),


Latest Indian National Award Updates

» Daughters of Mother India wins CAM International Film Award Egypt

» National Sports Award of India: Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award History, Winners

» Indian Literary Award: Sahitya Gaurav Puraskar History, Winners List

» Indian Literary Award: Kabir Samman history, winners list