Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

About Kathmandu Declaration Adoption At BIMSTEC Summit 2018: Details, Features, Aim



About Kathmandu Declaration Adoption At BIMSTEC Summit 2018: Details, Features, Aim

The Kathmandu Declaration was adopted by all the seven member countries of BIMSTEC at the 4th BIMSTEC Summit-2018, held in Kathmandu, Nepal

The BIMSTEC member countries include India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Sri Lanka from South Asia and Myanmar.

The Kathmandu Declaration focuses on ending poverty in the region by 2030 in line with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.

The Kathmandu Declaration inculcates issues such as agricultural technology exchange, fight against terrorism, gradual reduction of the impact of climate change, increase trade and investment, and ease the visa processing for the people of BIMSTEC member states.

The Kathmandu Declaration strongly condemns terrorism in all its forms and manifestations and stressed that there can be no justification whatsoever for any act of terrorism.

The Kathmandu Declaration underlines the importance of multidimensional connectivity as a key enabler to economic integration for the shared prosperity of the region. 

The Kathmandu Declaration also highlights the importance of trade and investment as one of the major contributing factors for fostering economic and social development in the region.


Latest Bimstec Summit Updates

» 4th BIMSTEC Summit 2018 Concludes: Kathmandu declaration adopted by members states

» 4th BIMSTEC Summit Started in Kathmandu, Nepal on 30 August 2018 Theme Details

» Fourth BIMSTEC summit 2018 in Kathmandu, Nepal Objectives, Aim, Features

» Union Cabinet approved MoU between India & South Korea on cooperation in Railways

» Union Cabinet apprised of MoU between India, UK and Northern Ireland: Details Purpose

» Union Cabinet approved Trade Cooperation Framework between India & Rwanda: Details