Latest GK GS

Haryana Government to institute Kalpana Chawla Haryana Solar Award

Haryana Government to institute award after Late Astronomer Kalpana Chawla: Details, Highlights

The Haryana government on 26th September 2018, has decided to institute Kalpana Chawla Haryana Solar Award, named after the India-born US astronaut, to encourage the participation of scientists in the solar sector.

The main aim of the 'Kalpana Chawla Haryana Solar Award' scheme is to create a platform for participation of women and men scientists in the solar energy sector. 

The decision to this effect was taken at a meeting of the Haryana Cabinet, chaired by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, in Chandigarh.

Kalpana Chawla was the first Indian-origin woman to travel to space. She was one of the seven crew members who died in the Space Shuttle Colombia disaster in 2003 when the spacecraft disintegrated during its re-entry into the Earth's atmosphere.

Haryana (India)

Statehood: 1st November 1966 

Capital: Chandigarh

Largest City: Faridabad

Districts: 22

Governor: Satyadev Narayan Arya

Chief Minister: Manohar Lal Khattar (BJP)


» Haryana Government approved construction of Kishau dam

» Neeraj Chopra: early life, Sports Career, Records, and Medals

» Daily Current Affairs 15th September 2018 GK GS Bulletins

» JNU Renaming Management School To Honor Former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee

» HRD Ministry Granted Institution of Eminence Status To 6 Public & Private Institutes

» Top rank Universities, Colleges of India Ranking 2017 by HRD