Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

South Africa President Cyril Ramaphosa is Chief Guest at Republic Day 2019



South Africa President Cyril Ramaphosa is Chief Guest in Republic Day 2019: Details, Highlights

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa will be the chief guest at India’s 70th Republic Day celebrations on 26 January 2019.

President Cyril Ramaphosa was invited to be a chief guest by Prime Minister Narendra Modi when two leaders met on sidelines of G20 summit in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

The announcement comes a month after US President Donald Trump declined India’s invitation to be the chief guest. The reason cited was “Scheduling Restrictions” of President.

Chief guests of Republic Day In Recent Years

2018- In a historic first of Republic Day celebrations, 10 heads of state were the chief guest at a time. They were from Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), a regional grouping of 10 Southeast Asian countries comprising of Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos, and Brunei.

The chief guest at India’s first Republic Day on 26 January 1950, was President of Indonesia and since then five other Southeast Asian leaders have chief guests at Republic Day parades.

2017- Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan (Crown prince of Abu Dhabi), 2016- Francois Hollande (President of France), 2015-Barack Obama (US President).

2014- Shinzo Abe (Japanese Prime Minister), 2013-Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck (King of Bhutan), 2012-Yingluck Shinawatra (Then Prime Minister of Thailand), 2011- Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono (Then President of Indonesia).


Latest Republic Day Updates

» India invited US President Donald Trump to be Chief Guest in Republic Day 2019

» HM Antarik Suraksha Medal Eligibility, Timing, Operation Area, Features

» HM Annual Awards, Medals for Special Operations, Antarik Suraksha, Utkrisht Seva

» G-20 Summit: PM Narendra Modi asks G-20 countries to implement Hamburg declaration

» Bhopal Gas Tragedy Marks 34 years of Completion on 3rd December 2018

» Drones Flying Legal In India from 1st December 2018