Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

India's fighter jet ‘LCA Tejas’ gets final operational clearance to induct into IAF



India's fighter jet ‘LCA Tejas’ gets final operational clearance to induct into IAF: Details, Features, Capability, Highlights

India's first self-made fighter jet, Light Combat Aircraft Tejas MK I (LCA Tejas) on 21st February 2019, received the Final Operational Clearance for induction into the Indian Air Force (IAF) as a fully-weaponized fighter jet.

LCR Tejas gets a formal declaration of Final Operational Clearance (FOC) by Dr. G Satheesh Reddy, Chairman of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and Secretary of Defence (R&D).

Earlier to this, the LCA Tejas was an Initial Operational Clearance (IOC) aircraft.

LCA Tejas Features

The Light Combat Aircraft Tejas is a supersonic, single-seat, single-engine multirole light fighter aircraft that uses fourth generation technologies.

LCA Tejas was co-developed by the Aeronautical Development Agency in cooperation with the Bengaluru-based Hindustan Aeronautics Limited.

LCA Tejas is built from CFC materials and has unstable aerodynamics.

LCA Tejas is equipped with a quadruplex digital fly-by-wire flight control system to ease handling by the pilot.

LCA Tejas incorporates an advanced glass cockpit that comprises all the round dialed electro-mechanical instruments.

LCA Tejas is fitted with the coherent pulse-Doppler Multi-Mode Radar that is designed to operate equally effectively in the Air to Air and Air to Surface domains.

LCA Tejas is fitted with Open Architecture Computer (OAC).


Latest Lca Tejas Updates

» India's LCA Tejas successfully completes first ever mid air refueling trial

» IAF successfully carried first-ever mid-air refueling of LCA Tejas


» Indian Coast Guard conducts Exercise ‘Clean Sea-2018’ at sea off Port Blair

» India Signs $777 Million Deal For Israeli Missile Defence Systems, Top Highlights