Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Mary Kom becomes brand ambassador of Tribes India



MC Mary Kom becomes the brand ambassador of Tribes India: Details, Highlights

Union Minister for Tribal Affairs, Jual Oram, on 27th September 2018, named five-time world champion boxer MC Mary Kom as the brand ambassador of Tribes India at an event in Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi.

Minister Jual Oram at the event organized by Tribal Cooperative Marketing Development Federation of India (TRIFED) and Tribes India under Ministry of Tribal Affairs also launched Punch Tantra Diwali collection”.

Mary Kom

Mary Kom full name 'Mangte Chungneijang Mary Kom' nickname as Magnificent Mary was born on 1 March 1983 in Churachandpur district of Manipur.

Mary Kom five-times World Amateur Boxing champion. She is the only woman boxer to have won a medal in each one of the six world championships.

Mary Kom has been awarded Padma Bhushan (2013), Padma Shree (2010) and Arjuna Award for Boxing (2003).

Punch Tantra Diwali collection

The Punch Tantra range of tribal arti-facts consists of handlooms and handicrafts inspired and promoted by Mary Kom.

The Punch Tantra Diwali collection is like the powerful punch of Mary Kom, as the name suggests. It has been specially introduced for the festive season.

The Punch Tantra collection comprises Sarees, Stoles, Dupatas, Shawls, Kurtas/Kurtis, Lamp shades (Kandels), Sky Lanterns, Diyas, Gift hampers, etc.

About Tribal Cooperative Marketing Development Federation of India (TRIFED)

Managing Director: Pravir Krishna

Headquarters: New Delhi


Latest Mary Kom Updates

» CWG-2018: MC Mary Kom Bags 18th Gold Medal for India in Boxing Event

» Mary Kom Profile, Achievements, Awards, Medals, Records, Age, Sports career

» Mary Kom becomes the First Indian to join International Boxing Association

» ACC appointed Anil Kumar Chaudhary as new Chairman of Steel Authority of India

» Actors Varun Dhawan & Anushka Sharma became ambassadors of Skill India Campaign

» ACC appointed Kamlesh Nilkanth Vyas as Chairman of Atomic Energy Commission