Latest GK GS

Four new elements Nh, Mc, Ts, Og take place in periodic table

Four new elements Nh, Mc, Ts, Og to the periodic table to the seventh row from January

These new elements are nihonium (Nh), moscovium (Mc), tennessine (Ts) and organesson (Og).

The four new elements have been approved by International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC).

These new elements have been named after a scientist or a geographic region.

Nihonium (Nh) for element 113, Moscovium (Mc) for element 115, Tennessine (Ts) for element 117 and Organesson (Og) for element 118 have been assigned

In Nihonium, the word Nihon has been derived from the Japenese word while in moscovium, mosco is the name of Russian capital city, Moscow.

Tennessine is derived from the word Tennessee which is known for pioneering research in chemistry while Organesson is named after 83 year old Russian physicist Yuri Organessian.


» Nobel Prize 2016 in Chemistry goes to Jein, Fraser and Bernard

» Annual Meeting of IRCH for herbal medicine at New Delhi on 8 Nov

» NPL made Hydroelectric cell which produce electricity from water

» NASA launches a Electro bandage to heal the wounds quickly