Latest GK GS

Arthur Ashkin, Gerard Mourou & Donna Strickland Accorded Nobel Prize in Physics 2018

Arthur Ashkin, Gerard Mourou & Donna Strickland Accorded Nobel Prize in Physics-2018: Details, Achievements, Highlights

The Nobel Prize for Physics-2018 was awarded to Arthur Ashkin as well as jointly to Gerard Mourou and Donna Strickland on 2nd October 2018, for their groundbreaking discoveries in ‘laser physics’.

Arthur Ashkin, the American who developed "optical tweezers," became the oldest Nobel Prize laureate at age 96 years.

Donna Strickland, of the University of Waterloo in Canada, became only the third woman to win the physics Nobel and the first in 55 years.

Frenchman Gerard Mourou of the Ecole Polytechnique and the University of Michigan developed a way to generate high-intensity, ultra-short bursts of laser light.

The winners will be awarded nine million kronor (£770,000) which has been decided by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. 

Nobel Prize considered a pride to regard people who have made great advances and discoveries in different fields. Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, Physics, and Chemistry are conferred upon people who have excelled in the field of science.



» James P. Allison, Tasuku Honjo accorded Nobel Prize 2018 in Physiology or Medicine

» Nobel Prize: No Nobel awards in literature for 2018

» UNEP Champions of the Earth Award 2018 Winners for Contribution in Solar Energy

» PM Narendra Modi wins Champions Of The Earth 2018 Award