Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Uday Kumar Varma appointed as BCCC member



Uday Kumar Varma appointed as BCCC member- Details, Career Profile

Former Information and Broadcasting Secretary, Uday Kumar Varma has been appointed as a member of the Broadcasting Content Complaints Council (BCCC), a self-regulatory body for general entertainment channels.

Uday Kumar Varma replaces former information commissioner Wajahat Habibullah, whose tenure at the BCCC has ended.

Uday Kumar Varma is a former IAS officer of 1976 batch from the Madhya Pradesh cadre. He was a member of the Central Administrative Tribunal (CAT) till recently and during his tenure as the I&B secretary, he spearheaded the nationwide digitisation programme.                                

The 13-member BCCC council, chaired by former Supreme Court judge Justice Vikramajit Sen, has actor Sharmila Tagore, theatre person Arundhati Nag and JNU professor Ira Bhaskar as some of its members, besides representatives of the National Commission for Women, National Commission for the Protection of Child Rights and the National Commission for Minorities, among others.


Latest Government Of India Updates

» Five judges bench constituted to hear challenge to IPC Section 377

» Latest Daily Current Affairs 9th July 2018 GK GS Bulletin

» Sambalpur Railway Division Becomes 1st to remove all unmanned level crossing

» Maria Fernanda Espinosa Appointed As President Of The 73rd UNGA

» Senior Lawyer Indu Malhotra Appointed As First Woman Supreme Court Judge

» M Sathiyavathy Took Charge as UPSC Member