Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Sambalpur Railway Division Becomes 1st to remove all unmanned level crossing



Indian Railways: Sambalpur Railway Division Becomes 1st to remove all unmanned level crossing- Details, Aim, 

The Sambalpur railway division of Indian Railways’ East Coast Railway Zone recently became country first to remove all unmanned level crossing. It set a record by constructing six limited height subways (LHS) at one go, in a single block of four and a half hours.

The launch of the 6 Limited Height Subways in Sambalpur Division is the first of its kind not only in East Coast Railway, but also in the entire Indian Railways.

The main aim behind the move was to eliminate all unmanned Level Crossing Gates over Sambalpur Division. In view of the launch of the 6 LHS, seven unmanned Level Crossing gates will be totally closed in Bhawanipatna-Lanjigarh Road Section of Kalahandi area of Odisha.

About Sambalpur Railway Division

Sambalpur railway division is one of the three railway divisions under East Coast Railway zone of Indian Railways.

This railway division was formed on 5th November 1951 and its headquarters is located at Sambalpur in the state of Odisha of India.

Waltair railway division and Khurda Road railway division are the other two railway divisions under the East Coast Railway zone.


Latest Indian Railways Updates

» Train-18 Specifications, Features, Speed, Launch Date under Make In India ICF

» Latest Daily Current Affairs 21st June 2018 GK GS Bulletin

» Indian Railways: Launching Credit Card-like Medical Cards to Employees, Retirees

» Daily Current Affairs 8th July 2018 GK GS Bulletins

» UNESCO & Andhra Pradesh Government signed agreement to establish 'Design University'

» AAI to come up with Civil Aviation Research Organisation 'CARO' in Hyderabad