Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

National Sports Awards: Dronacharya Awards 2018 winners list



National Sports Awards: Dronacharya Awards 2018 winners list: Details

Dronacharya Awards are bestowed upon coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events.

Dronacharya Awards is named after Drona, often referred as "Dronacharya" or "Guru Drona", a character from the Sanskrit epic Mahabharata of ancient India. It was instituted in the year 1985.

Dronacharya Awards comprises a bronze statuette of Dronacharya, a certificate, ceremonial dress, and a cash prize of Rupees 5 lakh.

Dronacharya Awards winners are selected by a committee constituted by the Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports and are honored to have done "outstanding and meritorious work on a consistent basis and enabled sportspersons to excel in international events" over a period of four years.

Dronacharya Awards-2018, the selection committee was headed by Justice Mukul Mudgal (Former Chief Justice of High Court of Punjab and Haryana). 

2018 Dronacharya Awards Winners List

1. Chenanda Achaiah Kuttappa (Boxing)
Vijay Sharma (Weightlifting)
A. Srinivasa Rao (Table Tennis)
Sukhdev  Singh  Pannu (Athletics)
 Clarence Lobo (Hockey-Life Time)
Tarak Sinha (Cricket-Life Time)
Jiwan Kumar Sharma (Judo-Life Time)
V.R. Beedu (Athletics -Life Time)


Latest National Sports Awards Updates

» National Sports Awards: Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2017-18 Winners List

» National Sports Awards: Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2018 Winners List

» National Sports Awards: Dhyan Chand Award 2018 Winners List