Latest GK GS

Chandra Bhushan Kumar Appointed as Deputy Election Commissioner of India

Chandra Bhushan Kumar Appointed as Deputy Election Commissioner of India

Senior bureaucrat Chandra Bhushan Kumar has been appointed as Deputy Election Commissioner (DEC) of India as part of a major bureaucratic reshuffle effected by the President of India.

Chandra Bhushan Kumar is a 1995 batch IAS officer of union territories cadre, will head the post for the term of five years.

Election Commissioners of India 

India’s Election Commissioners are members of Election Commission of India (ECI).

The Election Commission of India is a multi-member body constitutionally empowered to conduct free and fair elections to the national and state legislatures.

The ECI comprised of three members including Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and two Election Commissioners (EC).

The Election Commissioners are usually retired Indian Administrative Service (IAS), officers.

The Election Commissioners are appointed by the President of India.

The Election Commissioners has service term for 6 years or until the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. The CEC and ECs have equal power and receive the equal salary, allowances and other perquisites, which are similar to judge of Supreme Court.

At present, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) is Om Prakash Rawat and other two Election Commissioners (ECs) are Sunil Arora and Ashok Lavasa.


» Ashok Lavasa Profile, Early life, Education, Career Achievements, Awards

» Debjani Ghosh Appointed As New President Of NASSCOM

» Former CBSE Chairperson Vineet Joshi is First Director General of NTA

» Former NCERT Director JS Rajput Nominated as India‚Äôs Representative to EXB UNESCO