Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

European Union (EU): country, capital, motto, presidents, official languages



European Union countries, area, population, official languages and scripts, details

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 28 member states located primarily in Europe. EU has developed an internal single market through a standardised system of laws that apply in all member states.

Member states- Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta,

Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.

Capital- Brussels.

Motto- In Varietate Concordia (United in Diversity).

Presidents- (A) President of the European Commission- Jean-Claude Juncker

(B) President of the European Council- Donald Dusk.

(C) President of the European Parliament- Antonio Tajani.

Area and population- 4,475,757 km sq, population over 510 million.

Official languages- (24 languages) Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovene, Spanish, Swedish.  

Official scripts- Latin, Greek, Cyrillic.

Currency- Euro.


Latest European Union Updates

» India Will Host 23rd European Union Film Festival in New Delhi

» India, Belgium and Europian Union To Celebrate International Yoga Day 21 June 2018

» Data Safety Privacy Law 'GDPR' Implemented In EU From 25th May 2018

» Indian Special Forces: 9 Special Forces of India are among the best in the world

» National Security Guard (NSG): Introduction, History, Motto, DG of NSG

» Jammu And Kashmir Governor's rule as per Article 92 of J&K Constitution