Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

G-20 (Group of 20): History, Objectives, Countries, Theme, Agenda, Fact, Significance



G-20 (Group of Twenty) History, Establishment details, Member countries, Objectives of the group, Works, Details

  • G-20 stands for a group of twenty which subsume 19 countries and the European Union.
  • The establishment was due to the backdrop of Asian economic crises.
  • Help emerging economic.
  • Promotion of international financial stability: foremost aim.
  • The forum was created with the initiative of seven major countries: Canada, USA, Japan, Germany, France, Italy, and U.K.
  • No official written rules. Countries are influenced; being part of G-20summit was appreciative.

The 1st G-20 summit was held in the USA, 2008 11th edition was hosted by Hangzhou, China.


Toward an innovative, invigorated, interconnected and inclusive world economy.

AGENDA - the health of the global economy.

Main themes of the latest summit:-

  • Fight against tax evasion & corruption .
  • Bolster support for refugees.
  • Tackle issue of excessive industrial capacity.
  • Innovation to boost economic growth.
  • Favour international trade &i investment.

Countries in G-20 summit

Argentina, Canada, Italy, Germany, Russia, South Africa, United Kingdom, European Union, South Korea, Turkey, Brazil, Saudi Arabia, India, Indonesia, Japan, USA, Mexico, China, France, Australia.

The guest invitees in the latest summit - Egypt, Kazakhstan, Laos, Senegal, Spain, Singapore, and Thailand. 


Latest European Union Updates

» International Women Entrepreneurs Summit 2018 started in Kathmandu: Theme, Details

» Daily Current Affairs 31st August 2018 GK GS Bulletins

» EU & India collaborates for research programme 'Horizon 2020' for Influenza Vaccine

» India & Uzbekistan signed 17 MoUs in several fields including security cooperation

» Goa Government and Portugal MoU for water, sewage management for 2 years

» India and Oman agreed to boost cooperation in maritime security