Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

CSIR announced Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize 2018, for Science and Technology



CSIR announced Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize 2018, for Science and Technology: Details, Winners Names, Highlights

The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) on its foundation day released the list of awardees for Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize 2018

Dr. Thomas Pucadyil from the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research in Pune has been awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology by CSIR.

He was conferred with the honor for his research in the discipline of Biological Sciences on membrane biochemistry and vesicular transport.

Other awardees of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology 2018 were:

In the Biological Sciences category, Ganesh Nagaraju from IISC, Bengaluru.

In the Chemical science category, Rahul Banerjee and Swadhin Kumar Mandal of IISER, Kolkata,

In the Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences category, Dr. Madineni Venkat Ratnam of the National Atmospheric Research Laboratory, Tirupati, and Parthasarathi Chakraborty of CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography, Goa,

In the Engineering Sciences, Amit Agarwal and Ashwin Anil Gumaste of IIT Bombay,

In the Mathematical Sciences category, Amit Kumar and Nitin Saxena, from IIT Delhi and IIT Kanpur respectively,

In the Medical Sciences category, Dr. Ganesan Venkatasubramanian of NIMHANS, Bengaluru,

In the Physical Sciences category, Dr. Aditi Sen De the Harish Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad and Dr. Ambarish Ghosh from IISc, Bengaluru.

About Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize Award

The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize award was first awarded in 1958

The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize comprises a citation, a plaque, and a cash award of ₹5 lakh. In addition, recipients also get15,000 per month up to the age of 65 years.

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award is named after the founder Director of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), the late Sir Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar.

The prize is given each year for outstanding contributions to science and technology and recognition of outstanding Indian work in science and technology.

Any India citizen, an overseas citizen of India (OCI) and persons of Indian origin (PIO) working in India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years as reckoned are eligible for the award.



Latest Government Of India Updates

» Supreme Court Ruling: Husband is not the master of wife

» Finance Ministry hikes 19 non-essential items import duty to limit import: Full List

» Top Union Cabinet Approvals- Current Affairs 27th September 2018 GK GS Bulletins

» President Ram Nath Kovind conferred Tenzing Norgay National Adventure awards 2017

» About Oscar-2019 nominated Assamese movie Village Rockstars

» Assamese movie ‘Village Rockstars’ is India’s official entry for Oscars 2019