Latest GK GS

Indian 2nd Highest Literary Award: Sahitya Akademi Awards history, winners

Indian Literary Awards: Sahitya Akademi 2nd highest Indian Literary Award, Winner List

Sahitya Akademi is the 2nd highest Indian literary award established in 1954, the award given annually to Indian writers for their most outstanding Books in any of the 24 languages recognized by Sahitya Akademi.

Other important awards provided by Sahitya Akademi are Premchand Fellowship, Bhasha Samman, Anand Coomaraswamy Fellowship and Translation awards.  

Sahitya Akademi award honored with a bronze (originally marble) plaque and a cash Rs. 1 Lakh.

Somse Winner of Sahitya Akademi Literary award of India:

Jatindranath was the first person who got Sahitya Akademi award in 1955 for his poetry “ Bana Phul” and Jayanta  Madhab Bora got the award in 2017 for his novel “Moriahola” belonging to Assamese.

Jibanananda Das was the first who awarded Sahitya Akademi award in 1955 for his poetry “Shreshtha Kavita” belonging to Bengali and Afsar Ahmed honored with the award in 2017 for his Novel “Sei Nikhonj Manusta”.

Mangal shingh Hazowary belonging to Bodo, got Sahitya Akademi award in 2005 for his Poetry “Jiuni Mwgthang  Bisombi Arw Aroj”  and Rita Bora for her Novel “ Thwisam in 2017.

Narendra Khajuria got Sahitya Akademi award in 1070 for his short stories “Nila Ambar Kale Badal and Shiv Mehta in 2017 for his short stories “Banna” belonging to Dogri.

In 1960, R K Narayan got Sahitya Akademi award for his Novel “The Guide”, Mamang Dai in 2017 for his Novel “The Black Hill” and Jerry Pinto for his Novel “Em and the Big Hoom” belonging to English.

In 1955, Mahadev Desai was got Sahitya Akademi award for his Memoirs “Mahadev Bhaini Diary” and Urmi Ghanshyam Deshai for his Criticism “Gujarati Vyakaranna Baso Varsh” belonging to Gujrati.

In 1955, Makhanlal Chaturvedi was got this prestigious award for his poetry Him-Tarangini and Ramesh Kuntal Megh in 2017, for his literary criticism “ Vishw Mithak Sarit Sagar” belonging in Hindi.

In 1956, PV Kane got Sahitya Akademi award for his Research “History of Dharma Sastra Vol and Niranjan Mishra in 2017 for his Poetry Gangaputravadanam” belonging to Sanskrit.  


» Indian Literary Award: Gyanpeeth Award (Jnanpith Award) history, winners

» Indira Gandhi Peace Prize Award History, Winners

» Indian Gallantry (Military) Awards, wartime and peacetime award details