Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Nirmala Sitharaman becomes India’s first woman Finance Minister for full term



Nirmala Sitharaman becomes India’s first woman Finance Minister: Details, Profile, Political Career

Former Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman in Modi Government (2017-2019) has been again appointed as India’s first full-time woman finance minister on 31st May 2019.

Nirmala Sitharaman is the first woman finance minister after former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi who served the same position for just one year (July 1969 and June 1970).

Nirmala Sitharaman, last held position as Defence Minister is succeeded by Former Home Minister Rajnath Singh in the list of Modi 2.0 Cabinet of Ministers.

Nirmala Sitharaman was born on 18th August 1959 (age 60 years) in Tamil Nadu's Tiruchirapalli.

Nirmala Sitharaman completed her graduation (BA economics) from Seethalakshmi Ramasamy College, Tiruchirappalli while completed her MA in economics from Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU).

Nirmala Sitharaman joined the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) in the year 2006.

When Nirmala Sitharaman was appointed as Defence Minister she became second defence minister after Indira Gandhi.

Nirmala Sitharaman also had served as the Minister of State for Finance and Corporate Affairs under the Ministry of Finance and the Minister for Commerce and Industry with independent charge.


PM Narendra Modi and a total of 57 ministers took the oath of office and secrecy at a grand ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan. The Union Cabinet for the 17th Lok Sabha includes 24 cabinet ministers, 9 ministers of state with independent charge and 24 Ministers of State (MoS).


Latest Nirmala Sitharaman Updates

» Modi Cabinet 2.0 List of Cabinet Minister taking oath with PM Narendra Modi

» Defence Minister Inaugurates India’s 2nd TN Defence Industrial Corridor

» Arunachal Pradesh Diffo Bridge Inaugurated: Details, Features, Benefits

» Admiral Karambir Singh is new Chief of Indian Navy: Details, Profile, Career

» PM Narendra Modi Cabinet 2.0 List of Ministers of State (I/C) Portfolio 2019

» PM Narendra Modi Cabinet 2.0 List of Ministers of State (MoS) Portfolio 2019