Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Indian NDTV Journalist Ravish Kumar wins Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019



Indian NDTV Journalist Ravish Kumar wins Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019

Indian journalist Ravish Kumar of NDTV India news channel has chosen to win Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019.

Ravish Kumar (44-years-old) has been given this prestigious award in recognition for harnessing journalism to give voice to voiceless.

Ravish Kuma is one of India’s most influential TV journalists. He is also NDTV India’s senior executive editor. His news show ‘Prime Time’ that is broadcasted on NDTV deals with real-life, under-reported problems of ordinary people.

Ravish Kumar is among 5 individuals who were chosen for this years’ award. The award will be presented to all recipients at a ceremony in Manila (Capital of Philippine) on 9 September 2019.

In 2018, Ramon Magsaysay Award was awarded to two Indians Bharat Vatwani and Sonam Wangchuk.

Ramon Magsaysay Award 

Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s premier prize and highest honor. It is often regarded as region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize.

Ramon Magsaysay Award was established in 1957 by trustees of New York City (NYC) based Rockefeller Brothers Fund and Philippine government.

Ramon Magsaysay Award celebrates the memory and leadership example of the third Philippine president Ramon Magsaysay after whom the award is named

Ramon Magsaysay Award is awarded annually to individuals or organizations from Asia region for their altruistic, selfless and philanthropic service.

Ramon Magsaysay Award carries Medallion bearing the likeness of the late President Ramon Magsaysay, cash prize and a certificate.


Latest Ramon Magsaysay Award Updates

» Ramon Magsaysay winner Dr Bharat Vatwani life, career, research, and achievements

» Ramon Magsaysay Award: establishment, features, history

» Daily Current Affairs 27th July 2018 GK GS Bulletins

» Google Doodle Celebrates the 50th Anniversary of the 'Apollo 11' Moon Landing

» Femina Miss India 2019 winner is Suman Rao from Rajasthan

» PM Narendra Modi conferred with highest civilian award 'Izzudeen' of Maldives