Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Ramon Magsaysay Award: establishment, features, history



Asia's highest honor Ramon Magsaysay Award history and features

The Ramon Magsaysay Award, Asia’s premier prize and highest honor, Outstanding contributions in Government Service, Public Service, Community Leadership, Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts, Peace and International Understanding and Emergent Leadership in Asia. The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) is started in 1957. The first award was given in the year 1958.

His life had the great impact not only in his country but also on many people in many lands. He was one of the outstanding leaders of his time. He worked to build a nation a world in which all people were free and lived in honor and peace with one another. His spirit will continue to be an inspiration. He exemplifies the highest type of leadership. Ramon del Fierro Magsaysay was the third president of the Republic of the Philippines after World War II(overall 7th president).

Over the past 50 years, the Magsaysay Awardees have dedicated their lives to work that has transformed their societies for the better. They have applied on-the-ground, unique and inclusive solutions to wide-ranging problems that have been proven to work and are sustainable. Their life-changing experiences can be shared with the rest of the region.


Latest History Updates

» History: Central Asian contact and their results, Indo-Greek relations, Gupta Dynasty

» The Mauryan Empire - Chandragupta and Asoka Governance

» Shivaji: profile, early life, administration, wars and governance

» Fields Medal History, Features, Prize Money, Eligibility Criteria

» Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award: Details, Eligibility, Insignia

» About the United States Legion of Merit Award: Details, Eligibility, Insignia