Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Pu Zoramthanga swore as new 5th Chief Minister of Mizoram



Pu Zoramthanga swore as new 5th Chief Minister of Mizoram: Details, Political Career, Highlights

Mizo National Front President, Pu Zoramthanga has sworn in as new 5th Chief Minister of Mizoram on 15th December 2018.

Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Mr. Zoramthanga. He succeeded Mr. Lal Thanhawla.

Senior MNF leader Tawalunia has been appointed as Deputy Chief Minister of State and other 10 members have been allocated the ministry.

Mizoram Assembly election held on November 28 and result for the same was published on 14 December. MNF bagged 26 seats out of total 40 seats and won the election whereas BJP could manage to win only one seat while Congress managed to win only 5 seats.

About Pu Zoramthanga

Pu Zoramthanga had earlier served as Chief Minister of Mizoram twice from 1998 to 2008. He is the chief of Mizo National Front, founded by Mr. Laldenga and led the 20 year- long violent Mizo Movement.

Zoramthanga joined Mizoram Legislative Assembly in 1987 as Minister of Finance and Education. He has served in various ministries including finance, planning, public work department, and horticulture.

About Mizo National Front

Mizo National Front a regional party of Mizoram founded by Pu Laldenga in 1961. The party is a part of North-East Democratic Alliance and ally of National Democratic Alliance. Presently Pu Zoramthanga is president of the party.


Latest Zoramthanga Updates

» Former Mizoram CM Zoramthanga Profile, Education, Political Career

» India's private UAV Factory comes UP in Hyderabad.

» Shi Yomi is 23rd district of Arunachal Pradesh: 2 more districts to be added

» Government of India strategic sale of Rural Electrification Corporation Details