Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W.Young win Nobel Prize in Medicine 2017



The three Americans scientists C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young Awarded by Nobel Prize for their Discoveries of controlling circadian systems 

Three Americans Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young have won the 2017 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for Discoveries about the molecular mechanisms that control the body’s circadian systems.

Jeffrey C. Hall was born in New York, Rosbash in Kansas City, and they both worked at Brandeis University. Michael Young was born in Miami and worked at Rockefeller University.

The three scientist used fruit flies to isolate a gene that controls the rhythm of a living organism’s daily life.

The Nobel Prize committee said, the three Scientist were able to peek inside our biological clock, helping explain how plants, animals and humans adapt their biological rhythm so that it is synchronized with the earth’s revolution.

By examining the internal working of fruit flies, the investigators helped determined that the gene they were analyzing encoded a protein that accumulated in cells at night, and then degraded during the day.



Latest Nobel Prize Updates

» Malala Yousafzai Profile, Early Life, Education, Achievements, Awards, Struggle

» The Telomere Effect book reveals ways to live longer, age control

» CM Chandrababu Naidu announces 100 crore Prize to Nobel winners