Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Ex-IES Officer Sangeeta Verma become member of Competition Commission of India 'CCI'



Ex-IES Officer Sangeeta Verma become a member of Competition Commission of India 'CCI': Details, Profile, Highlights

Former Indian Economic Services (IES) officer Sangeeta Verma has joined the Competition Commission of India (CCI) as a member.

The order of the Ministry of Corporate Affairs states that the central government has appointed Sangeeta Verma as the member of CCI for a period of 5 years from the date of assumption of charge of the post, or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

The CCI is now at its full strength with Ashok Kumar Gupta as chairperson, Sangeeta Verma, Augustine Peter and UC Nahta as members. In April the union cabinet had reduced the number of members of the competition commission of India from six to three.

About Competition Commission of India (CCI)

The Competition Commission of India (CCI) was established by the central government in 2003 under the provisions of the competition act 2002. CCI aims to establish a robust competitive environment through:

1. Proactive engagement with all stakeholders, including consumers, industry, government and international jurisdictions.
2. Being a knowledge-intensive organization with high competence level.
3. Professionalism, transparency, resolve, and wisdom in enforcement.

The CCI aims to create and sustain fair competition in the economy that will provide a ‘level playing field’ to the producers and make the markets work for the welfare of the consumers.

The CCI vision is “To promote and sustain an enabling competition culture through engagement and enforcement that would inspire businesses to be fair, competitive and innovative; enhance consumer welfare, and support economic growth”.


Latest Competition Commission Of India (CCI) Updates

» ACC appoints Ashok Kumar Gupta as Chairperson of Competition Commission of India

» Bank: IDFC BANK renamed IDFC FIRST BANK headquarter in Mumbai

» Government Finance Ministry Constitutes Competition Law Review Committee

» Harsh Vardhan Shringla is new India‚Äôs Ambassador to United States

» ACC: Pranab Kumar Das is new Chairman of CBIC

» Interim CBI Chief M Nageswara Rao re-appointed as Additional Director