Latest GK GS

Ajit Kumar Mohanty is New Director of BARC

Ajit Kumar Mohanty is New Director of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre: Details, Profile, Highlights

Union Ministry of Personnel has notified the appointment of Ajit Kumar Mohanty as Director of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre for the period of 3 years.

At present, Ajit Kumar Mohanty is the Director, Physics Group in BARC and Director, Saha Institute Institute of Nuclear Physics.

About Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC)

The Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) is India’s premier nuclear research facility headquartered in Trombay, Mumbai, Maharashtra.

The Atomic Energy Establishment, Trombay (AEET) was established by the government of India in 1954 to consolidate all the research and development activity for nuclear reactors and technology under the AEET.

As a result, all the scientists and engineers engaged in the fields of reactor design and development, instrumentation, metallurgy, and material science etc. were transferred with their respective programmes from the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) to AEET, with TIFR retaining its original focus for fundamental research in the sciences. After the demise of Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha in 1966, AEET was renamed Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC).

BARC has emerged as the multi-disciplinary research center with extensive infrastructure for advanced research and development.

BARC R&D covers the entire spectrum of nuclear science, engineering, and related areas. BARC’s core mandate is to sustain peaceful applications of nuclear energy, primarily for power generation.


» Asia's first nuclear reactor APSARA history, recommission, key people, fact, features

» K.N. Vyas appointed as head of Atomic Energy Commission

» About APSARA Nuclear Research Reactor: Details, Features, Significance, History

» Govind Prasad Sharma is new Chairman of National Book Trust

» Dr. G C Anupama appointed as new President of Astronomical Society of India

» Pramod Chandra Mody appointed as new CBDT Chairman