Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Pramod Chandra Mody appointed as new CBDT Chairman



Pramod Chandra Mody appointed as new CBDT Chairman: Details, Career, Highlights

Pramod Chandra Mody, a 1982-batch IRS Officer was appointed as the new chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) which is the policy-making body of the Income Tax Department.

Pramod Chandra Mody has been appointed in place of Sushil Chandra, who was on Thursday named as Election Commissioner ahead of the Lok Sabha polls due this summer.

Pramod Chandra Mody having worked on various posts in the I-T Department, he was currently working as the Member (Administration) in the CBDT.

Pramod Chandra Mody tenure would last till June 2019.

About Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT)

CBDT is nodal policy-making body of Income Tax (IT) department under Finance Ministry. It is a statutory authority established under The Central Board of Revenue Act, 1963.

CBDT is a supreme body in India for framing policies related to direct taxes and is also tasked to enforce direct tax laws in the country. The composition of CBDT includes Chairman and six members.



Latest Central Board Of Direct Taxes Cbdt Updates

» PAN Latest Updates: Father's name in Pan applications is not compulsory

» Number of millionaires taxpayers increased by 60% in India from 2014: CBDT Report

» Daily Current Affairs 10th May 2018 GK GS Bulletins

» CBDT Chairman Sushil Chandra appointed as new Election Commissioner of India

» ACC Appoints Rishi Kumar Shukla As New CBI Director

» Punit Goenka is new chairman of BARC India