Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Turing Award 2018: Winner Names



Turing Award 2018: Winner Names

The three initiators of Artificial Intelligence (AI), Yoshua Bengio, Geoffrey Hinton, and Yann LeCun were on 28 March 2019 awarded with the 2018 ACM A.M. Turing Award-2018.

All the three winners awarded the award for conceptual and engineering breakthroughs that have made deep neural networks a critical component of computing. Such AI is increasingly used in products that people use every day – from smart speakers to Facebook. This forms the backbone of Deep Learning.

All the three winners will share the USD 1 million prize money.

About Turing Award

The ACM A.M. Turing Award was introduced in 1966.

Turing Award is an annual prize given by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) for individuals who have contributed a lasting and major technical importance to the computer field. The Turing award is accompanied by a prize of US $1 million, with financial support provided by Google

Turing Award is recognized as the highest distinction in computer science and is often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of computing”.

The first recipient of the award was Alan Perlis. The first female recipient was Frances E. Allen, who was honoured in 2006.


Latest Artificial Intelligence (AI) Updates

» AI, Yoga & ECCE subjects added to CBSE curriculum

» IIT Hyderabad First in India to launch Bachelor course in Artificial Intelligence

» NITI Aayog's Global Hackathon on Artificial Intelligence: Dates, Details, Aim

» President Ram Nath Kovind honored with Croatia’s highest civilian award

» American Mathematician Karen Uhlenbeck accorded with Abel Prize 2019

» Marcelo Gleiser wins Templeton Prize 2019