Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Gagandeep Kang First Indian Women To Be Awarded Fellowship of the Royal Society, UK



Gagandeep Kang First Indian Women To Be Awarded Fellowship of the Royal Society, UK: Details, Achievements, Profile Highlights

Gagandeep Kang becomes first Indian woman scientist to be awarded Fellowship of the Royal Society (FRS), United Kingdom.

Gagandeep Kang is a clinician scientist, who is well known for her key role in the development of Rotavac.

Gagandeep Kang currently appointed as executive director of Translational Health Science and Technology Institute (THSTI), Faridabad, which is an autonomous institute of Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology.

Gagandeep Kang in 2016, was conferred prestigious Infosys Prize in Life Sciences for her contributions in understanding the natural history of rotavirus and other infectious diseases.

Gagandeep Kang is also the first Indian and first woman to edit Manson’s Textbook of Tropical Medicine.

About Fellowship of the Royal Society

The award is the oldest scientific academy in continuous existence since 1663. It is an award sponsored by the Royal Society of London and also known as FRS, ForMemRS and HonFRS. It is granted to individuals who made a substantial contribution to the improvement of natural knowledge in fields of natural knowledge, including mathematics, engineering science, and medical science.

The ward has been awarded to many eminent scientists approximately 8000 in total with 1675 living right now, including Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, Michael Faraday, Ernest Rutherford, Srinivasa Ramanujan, Albert Einstein, Winston Churchill, etc.


Latest United Kingdom Updates

» India & UK bilateral naval exercise 'Konkan 18' being held in Goa

» India and Uk signed mou on cancer research initiative

» India & UK signed MoU for India-UK Cancer Research Initiative

» Deenanath Mangeshkar Award 2019 Winners Names

» TIME’s 100 Most Influential People List: 4 Indians makes to the list

» Pulitzer Prize 2019 Winners List