Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Article 'Coalgate 2.0' Award for Investigative Journalism-2018



Article 'Coalgate 2.0' Award for Investigative Journalism-2018: Details, Achievements, Highlights

The article titled ‘Coalgate 2.0’ written by Nileena  MS has won the Asian College of Journalism’s Award for Investigative Journalism, 2018.

 The article was published in “The Caravan Magazine” in March 2018.  The final jury which includes Gopalkrishna Gandhi, Nilita Vachani and Dr. A R Venkatachalapathy unanimously approved Nileena’s work as the winner.

The Award comprised of a trophy, a citation, and Rs. 2 lakh cash prize. The award was presented by John Micklethwait, Editor-in-Chief of Bloomberg News, who was also the chief guest at the journalism school’s annual convocation ceremony.

Nileena’s article investigated the allotment of captive coal blocks in Parba East and Kanta Basan regions of Chhattisgarh. It also explored deforestation, relocation of people, loss of livelihood and denial of forest rights to tribals.

‘Coalgate 2.0’ published in “The Caravan Magazine” is an excellent example of investigative journalism in the field of financial reporting.

Other stories considered for nominations and have been awarded special mentions by the jury include:

“The Chronicles of Crime Fiction That is Adityanath’s Encounter Raj” authored by Neha Dixit and published in ‘The Wire’.

“The Death of Judge Loya” authored by Nikita Saxena and published in ‘The Caravan Magazine’.

About Award for Investigative Journalism

This Award for Investigative Journalism is given by the Asian College of Journalism with support of the Media Development Foundation.

The criteria for getting this award is comprised of a solid work of investigative journalism, combining extensive research uncovering new evidence to reveal a truth, hitherto unknown to most, and of essential public interest.


Latest Journalism Updates

» World Press Freedom Day Celebrations On 3rd May 2019 Theme, Details, Aim, History

» Google selects 10 Indian News Companies For Google News Initiative Funding

» RSF Report: India ranked 5th deadliest place to be a journalist, Afghanistan worst

» Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize 2019 Winner Name

» The Hindu Literary Prize 2018 Winners Names

» Eminent English writer Amitav Ghosh conferred with Jnanpith Award 2018