Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

First ICC World Test Championship: Details, Schedule, Teams, Venues



First ICC World Test Championship: Details, Schedule, Teams, Venues

The International Cricket Council has on 29 July 2019, officially launched the first World Test Championship (WTC).

ICC World Test Championship (WTC) is starting from 1 August 2019 and will see the top 9 Test teams in the world.

All these 9 teams will compete in 71 Test matches across 27 series, played over 2 years.

With the top two teams contesting the ICC World Test Championship Final in June 2021 (to be played in the UK) and the winners crowned ICC World Test Champions.

The ICC came to the idea of ‚Äč‚Äčthis championship in 2009. It was approved in 2010. The ICC wanted it to be started in 2013, but due to some reasons this could not happen and now it will start from the Ashes of England vs Australia in August. 


New Zealand
South Africa
Sri Lanka
West Indies 

Each team plays six series, with each series counting for 120 points, distributed over the number of matches in a series. 


Latest International Cricket Council (ICC) Updates

» Team India Squad for West Indies Tour 2019: Full List, Schedule, Highlights

» Sachin Tendulkar becomes 6th Indian to be inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

» ICC Suspends Zimbabwe Cricket From ICC Sports Events: Details, Reason, Impact

» Mary Kom clinches gold in President's Cup 2019

» Kiren Rijiju Committee Formed For Tokyo Games 2020 & Paris Games 2024

» Sri Lankan Pacer Lasith Malinga retired from ODIs: Details, Profile, ICC Career