Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Dr Pramod Kumar Mishra is new Principal Secretary to PM Narendra Modi



Dr Pramod Kumar Mishra is new Principal Secretary to PM Narendra Modi: Details, Profile, Career

Dr. Pramod Kumar Mishra (PK Mishra) has been appointed as the Principal Secretary to Prime Minister Narendra Modi with effect from 11 September 2019.

PK Mishra (71-years-old) was currently serving as Additional Principal Secretary to PM Modi. His appointment as Principal Secretary will be co-terminus with the term of Prime Minister or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

PK Mishra did Ph.D. in Economics/Development Studies from the University of Sussex, M.A. in Development Economics at the University of Sussex as also M.A. in Economics at Delhi School of Economics (DSE) and B.A. Hons. (Economics) from G.M. College (Sambalpur University) in 1970.

PK Mishra served as Additional Principal Secretary to PM Modi during 2014-19.  He is credited with introducing innovation and transformative changes in human resource management, particularly appointments to senior positions.

As Secretary Agriculture & Cooperation, PK Mishra was involved in national initiatives like the National Food Security Mission (NFSM) and National Agriculture Development Programme (RKVY).  He has also served as Chairman of State Electricity Regulatory Commission (SERC) and in area of Disaster management.

His has been involved in research and academic work for more than 4 years at Institute of Development Studies (UK), negotiation and execution of Asian Development Bank (ADB) and World Bank projects, member of Governing Board of International Crop Research Institute for Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT) and participation as expert/resource person in several international conferences.

PK Mishra was also recently conferred with United Nations SASAKAWA Award 2019, the most prestigious international award in disaster management.


Latest Pramod Kumar Mishra Updates

» UNDRR awarded PM Modi Secretary P.K. Mishra with Sasakawa Award 2019

» PK Sinha is new Principal Advisor to PM Narendra Modi

» Kalraj Mishra is the new Governor of Rajasthan

» Bandaru Dattatraya is the new Governor of Himachal Pradesh