Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

19th SAARC Summit cancelled after India boycott the summit



19th SAARC Summit to be cancelled after four member countries boycott the Summit

The 19th SAARC Summit which was initially scheduled on 15-16 November 2016 at Islamabad, Pakistan postponed the dates.

This Summit was to be attended by the eight member states which are India, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal and Maldives.

This summit is to be attended by the officials of member countries, representatives of observers and guest states.

Four member countries have cited ‘terrorism’ and ‘imposed violence’ after the Uri Attack which took place on 18th September 2016 around 5.30 a.m.

Total 23 soldiers were killed, and as a result India decided to boycott the summit claiming Pakistan’s involvement in the terror attack.

Late on, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Bhutan and Sri Lanka also decided to not participate in the 19th SAARC Summit 2016.

 So, it is expected that this Summit will be cancelled.


Latest Saarc Updates

» Narendra Modi denies to attend SAARC summit, leaving Pak alone

» World Justice Project's Rule of Law Index, India ranked at 66

» Aung San Suu Kyi of Myanmar visit India on 18 October 2016

» International Day for the Eradication of Poverty, 17 October