Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

ICC World Cup 2019: Matches, Venue, Final Date, Winner, Top Teams



ICC World Cup 2019: All Key Facts You Need To Know

The ICC World Cup 2019 has been started on 30th May 2019 hosted in England and Wales.

Let's find out some interesting facts about the ICC World Cup 2019:

Team England will play the first match at the ICC World Cup against South Africa at Kennington Oval, London.

There would be 48 matches in total in the World Cup.

The ICC World Cup will see participation from teams of 10 nations - England (host), New Zealand, South Africa, Australia, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and West Indies. 

The ICC World Cup final will be held on July 14.

The ICC Cricket World Cup (CWC) takes place every four years.

The top 8 teams of the ‘ICC One-Day rankings’ at the given point of time qualify automatically for the ICC World Cup and the final two teams are selected from the ‘ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier’ which is held a year prior to the Cricket World Cup. 

The ICC World Cup 2019 will be played in a Round Robin Format on the lines of 1992 World Cup. 

Zimbabwe could not make it to the ICC World Cup 2019 after having qualified for 9 consecutive World Cups since 1983.

The International Cricket Council awards a total prize money pool of USD 10 million in the tournament. The Winner gets USD 4 million; runner ups get USD 2 million; Losing semi-finalists get USD 800,000; Winners of each group stage match get USD 40,000 and teams that fail to qualify for the semi-finals to get USD 100,000.

Team India has won the ICC Cricket World Cup twice, once in 1983 and later in 2011.

The first Cricket World Cup was held in 1975 in England. It was played as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side.

Australia won the three consecutive World Cup tournaments held in 1999, 2003 and 2007.

India’s Sachin Tendulkar has made the most runs in the World Cup tournaments. He has made 2,278 runs in 6 world cups.

Glenn McGrath of Australia has claimed the highest number of wickets i.e. 71.

Australia has won 5 titles in the history of ICC World Cup.


Latest World Cup 2019 Updates

» ICC World Cup 2019: India matches schedule, team squad, venue details, timings

» World Cup 2019: Team India to wear Orange color jersey for few matches

» GK Questions 19th May 2019 General Knowledge, Current Affairs

» India’s G.S. Lakshmi Is First Female ICC Match Referee: Details, Career, Profile