Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

BIMSTEC stands against terrorism, summit in Kathmandu, Nepal



BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-sectorial Technical and Economic Cooperation), formation, countries, programmes

BIMSTEC or the bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectorial Technical and Economic Cooperation, formed in 1997, has seven members (Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Thailand). 

It is home to 1.6 billion people, or nearly 22% of the world’s population, and has a combined gross domestic product of $2.8 trillion.

However, the bloc has held summit-level meetings only thrice before the current Kathmandu summit, putting a question mark on its relevance. In its joint declaration, BIMSTEC also deplored terrorist attacks in all parts of the world.

The group underlined that the fight against terrorism “should target not only terrorists, terror organizations and networks but also identify and hold accountable states and non-state entities that encourage, support or finance terrorism, provide sanctuaries to terrorists and terror groups and falsely extol their virtues”.

It also urged member states to “devise a comprehensive approach which should include preventing financing of terrorists and terrorist actions from territories under their control, blocking recruitment and cross-border movement of terrorists, countering misuse of the internet for purposes of terrorism and dismantling terrorist safe havens”.


Latest Bimstec Updates

» Daily Current Affairs 1st September 2018 GK GS Bulletins

» About Kathmandu Declaration Adoption At BIMSTEC Summit 2018: Details, Features, Aim

» 4th BIMSTEC Summit 2018 Concludes: Kathmandu declaration adopted by members states

» India & Nepal signed MoU on Raxual-Kathmandu railway line: details

» India opened Zokhawthar immigration check-post in Mizoram along Myanmar border