Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Smriti Mandhana is ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year 2018



India Women Cricket team Vice-captain and Left-handed opener, Smriti Mandhana was adjudged ‘Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for the Women’s Cricketer of the Year‘ as well as the ‘Women’s ODI Player of the Year’by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Smriti Mandhana (22-year-old)  scored 669 runs in 12 ODIs along with 622 runs in 25 T20 Internationals in 2018 and became the second Indian woman to win an ICC award after fast bowler Jhulan Goswami, who was named the ICC Women’s Player of the Year in 2007.

Besides this Harmanpreet Kaur of India who spearheaded her side to the semi-finals of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 held in the Caribbean in November 2018, has been named the captain of ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year.

The squad for ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year: Smriti Mandhana (India), Tammy Beaumont (England), Suzie Bates (New Zealand) (captain), Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Deandra Dottin (Windies), Sana Mir (Pakistan), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Poonam Yadav (India).

The squad for ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year: Smriti Mandhana (India), Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper), Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Harmanpreet Kaur (India) (captain), Natalie Sciver (England), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Ashleigh Gardner (Australia), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Megan Schutt (Australia), Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh), Poonam Yadav (India).

Rumana Ahmed is the first Bangladesh player to have been selected in the ICC T20I Team.

Anjum Chopra, Snehal Pradhan were the Indians in the voting academy comprising of former players, members of the media and broadcasters that selected the ICC women team 2018 and awardees for the ICC Women Cricket 2018.

The other awardees in different categories of the ICC Women Cricket 2018 are:

  1. Alyssa Healy (Australia)- ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year
  2. Sophie Ecclestone (England)- ICC Women’s Emerging Player of the Year
  3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)- Captain ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year


Latest Smriti Mandhana Updates

» Smriti Mandhana Named First Indian Cricketer To Play England Kia Super League

» US adventurer O’Brady Is First Person to complete solo trek across Antarctica

» Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

» Indian Teen Vedangi Kulkarni from Pune became the fastest Asian to cycle the globe