Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Indian PM Narendra Modi Presented With Seoul Peace Prize



Indian PM Narendra Modi Presented With Seoul Peace Prize: Details, Achievement, Highlights

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 22nd February 2019, has conferred with Seoul Peace Prize in Seoul, South Korea.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi became the first ever Indian and 14th recipient of this precious Seoul Peace Prize. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the occasion said this award is dedicated to all Indians. He also donated the winning prize amount (1Crore and 30 Lacs) to Namami Gangey Fund.

PM Narendra Modi was selected for this prestigious award in recognition of his dedication for improving international cooperation, raising global economic growth, accelerating Human Development of people in India by fostering economic growth and furthering the development of democracy through anti-corruption and social integration efforts.

The Seoul Peace Prize credited PM Narendra Modi’s contributions to the growth of Indian and global economies, credited ‘Modinomics’ for reducing social and economic disparity between rich and poor.

The Seoul Peace Prize also lauded PM’s initiatives to make government cleaner through anti-corruption measures and demonetization. It also credited PM for his contribution towards regional and global peace through a proactive foreign policy with countries around the world under Modi Doctrine and Act East Policy.


The Seoul Peace Prize was established in 1990 to commemorate the success of the 24th Olympic Games held in Seoul.

The awardee receives a diploma, plaque, an honorarium of US $200,000.

Past laureates include distinguished global personalities like German Chancellor Angela Merkel, former UN Secretary General Kofi Annan and renowned international relief organizations like Doctors Without Borders and Oxfam.


Latest Narendra Modi Updates

» Daily Current Affairs 22nd February 2019 GK GS Bulletins

» Daily Current Affairs 21st February 2019 GK GS Bulletins

» India's First Ever Diesel-To-Electric Converted Locomotive Launched

» 7th National Photography Awards Theme, Winners Names

» Swachhata Excellence Awards 2019 Winners Names

» PM Narendra Modi Presented Swachh Shakti 2019 Awards