Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

World Food Prize 2018 Awarded to Lawrence Haddad and Dr. David Nabarro Details, About



World Food Prize 2018 Awarded to Lawrence Haddad and Dr. David Nabarro- Details, About

The World Food Prize 2018 was awarded to Lawrence Haddad and Dr. David Nabarro for their individual but complementary global leadership in elevating maternal and child undernutrition within food security. 

Lawrence Haddad is British economist and food policy researcher and Dr. David Nabarro has worked with the World Health Organization (WHO) and United Nations (UN) on health and hunger issues. 

Both of them work has resulted in reducing world’s number of stunted children by 10 million between 2012 and 2017

The World Food Prize is the most prominent global award for individuals whose breakthrough achievements alleviate hunger and promote global food security. 

The World Food Prize is annual award carrying a monetary award of $250,000. The prize emphasizes the importance of a nutritious and sustainable food supply for all people.

Since its formation, 7 Indians have won it. They are Dr Sanjaya Rajaram (2014), Dr. Modadugu Vijay Gupta (2005), Dr Surinder K. Vasal (2000), Dr B. R. Barwale (1998), Dr Gurdev Khush (1996), Dr Verghese Kurien (1989) and Prof. M. S. Swaminathan (1987, he was the first recipient of the prize).


Latest Food Security Updates

» Union Cabinet Approves India & Denmark MoU On Cooperation In Food Safety

» International Day of Rural Women on 15th October 2017 theme

» National Food Security Act now applicable in all states and UT

» India Ranked Fourth In Asia-Pacific Region In First Published Asia Power Index

» Nobel Prize: No Nobel awards in literature for 2018

» Google Doodles Marks Work Achievements Of French Filmmaker Georges Méliès On 3rd May