Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Award 2020 Winners List



India's top Award in Science for scientific discovery Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Award 2020 winners list 

There is a total of 14 scientists wins the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award for the year 2020. 

These awards are given in the field of Biological Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics.

Below are the details about winners and their field of discovery in the Science.

Sr. No. Field of Award Winner Area of Research
1. Biological Sciences Dr Subhadeep Chatterjee Dr Subhadeep Chatterjee identified a reversible, non-genetic process that bacterial cells use to regulate their population, with a process known as quorum sensing (QS).
2. Biological Sciences Dr Vatsala Thirumalai Dr.Vatsala Thirumalai research has made leaps in understanding how the central pattern generators and descending motor control from the brain develop in zebrafish (Animals with transparent skin bodies).

Chemical Sciences

Dr Jyotirmayee Dash Dr. Jyotirmayee Dash wins Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award 2020 for his work in Anticancer Research.
4. Chemical Sciences Subi Jacob George Subi Jacob George wins for her work in a pathbreaking advancement in supramolecular polymerization.
5. Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences Abhijit Mukherjee from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur Abhijit Mukherjee won SSB for being the first to develop a model for regional groundwater flow in the western Bengal basin and explored arsenic-safe aquifers in extensive parts of the Gangetic plains and delta. 
6. Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences Suryendu Dutta from IIT, Bombay Suryendu Dutta has studied the evolution of plant terpenoids from Permian to Eocene (~300 million to 34 million years ago) on the Indian continent. 
7. Engineering Sciences Dr Amol Arvindrao Kulkarni from the CSIR's National Chemical Laboratory Dr Amol Arvindrao Kulkarni has also established a first-of-its-kind microreactor laboratory in India, and developed the first-ever scalable continuous process for silver nanowires.  
8. Engineering Sciences Dr Kinshuk Dasgupta from the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai Dr.Kinshuk Dasgupta wins Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award for his work in Carbon Nanomaterials.
9. Mathematics Dr Anandavardhanan Dr Anandavardhanan was awarded the SSB prize in mathematics for his research in number theory.
10. Mathematics Dr.Rajat Subhra Hazra Dr.Rajat Subhra Hazra from the Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata wins for his most recent research in probability theory is a study of the mathematical limits of semiflexible polymers.
11. Medicine Dr. Bushra Ateeq Dr Bushra Ateeq, currently Associate Professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
12. Medicine Dr.Ritesh Agrawal Dr Ritesh Agarwal, Professor of Pulmonary Medicine at PGIMER
13. Physics Dr Rajesh Ganapathy Dr Rajesh Ganapathy from the International Centre for Materials Science (ICMS)
14. Physics Dr.Surajit Dhara Surajit Dhara shared the award for his contributions to colloidal physics in the last five years.


Latest Science And Technology Updates

» Lasers and its Applications, Revolutionary Technology and Science

» 26th National Children’s Science Congress begins in Bhubaneshwar, Odisha: Theme

» IMD New Technology ‘Impact Based Forecast Approach' To Assess Water Rise In Rivers

» Journalist Kalli Purie honored with ‘India’s Most Powerful Women in Media’ Award

» Veteran Legendary Actor Amitabh Bachchan Selected For Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2019

» PM Narendra Modi in UAE conferred with Order of Zayed & unveiled RuPay card