Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Veteran Legendary Actor Amitabh Bachchan Selected For Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2019



Veteran Legendary Actor Amitabh Bachhan Selected For Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2019

Veteran Legendary Amitabh Bachchan (76-years-old) has been selected unanimously for Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2019.

Union Minister of I&B Prakash Javadekar on 24 September 2019, tweeted the information on the Twitter handle.

Amitabh Bachchan original name 'Inquilaab Srivastava' was born on 11 October 1942 in Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh. He is an Indian film actor, film producer, television host, occasional playback singer, and former politician.

Amitabh Bachchan entered into Bollywood with Hindi movie named as 'Saat Hindustani' (1969). Till date, he has acted in more than 250 films in many languages.

Amitabh Bachchan father was a famous poet 'Harivansh Rai Bachchan' and his wife Jaya Bhaduri Bachchan is a noted actress and Politician. His son "Abhishek Bachchan' and Daughter-in-law 'Aishwarya Rai Bachchan' are also Bollywood superstars.

Dadasaheb Phalke Award

Dadasaheb Phalke Award is conferred by the Union Government for outstanding contribution to growth and development of Indian Cinema.

Dadasaheb Phalke Award was established in 1969 to commemorate the birth centenary year of father of Indian cinema, Dadasaheb Phalke.

Dadasaheb Phalke Award is the highest official recognition (award) in Indian cinema. It is given on the basis of recommendations of a committee of eminent personalities set up by the government.

Dadasaheb Phalke Award consists of a Swarn Kamal (Golden Lotus), a cash prize of Rs. 10 lakhs and a shawl.


Latest Dadasaheb Phalke Award Updates

» Dadasaheb Phalke award: Establishment, History, Prize details, Category, Significance

» National Film Award: Dadasaheb Phalke Award winners Detail

» National Film Award: Dadasaheb Phalke Award Beginning, History, Winners

» PM Narendra Modi in UAE conferred with Order of Zayed & unveiled RuPay card

» PM Narendra Modi List Of Prestigious International Awards 2014 To 2019

» Indian Railway Minister Piyush Goyal awarded 4th annual Carnot Prize