Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Bharat Ratna 2019 Award Winners Names: Achievements



Bharat Ratna 2019 Award Winners Pranab Mukherjee, Late Bhupen Hazarika, and Late Nanaji Deshmukh: Achievements

Former President Pranab Mukherjee, Assamese singer-composer Late Bhupen Hazarika, and social activist Late Nanaji Deshmukh were awarded India's highest civilian award, Bharat Ratna, by President Ram Nath Kovind on 8th August 2019.

Singer Bhupen Hazarika and Activist Nanaji Deshmukh were honored posthumously.

The winners of Bharat Ratna awardees was made on 25th January 2019. 

Pranab Mukherjee

Pranab Mukherjee (83-years-old) political career spanned about glorious 5 decades, during which he held several key posts in the Congress party.

Pranab Mukherjee served as India's 13th President from 2012-2017, and also served as the Union Finance Minister from 2009 to 2012.

Bhupen Hazarika

Bhupen Hazarika popularly called as 'Sudhakantha' was most popular in Bengal and Bangladesh and was an initiator for bringing the culture and folk music of Assam and northeast India to Hindi cinema.

Bhupen Hazarika had received the National Film Award, Padmashri, Dada Saheb Phalke Award, Padma Vibhushan, and many other prestigious honors.

Bhupen Hazarika died on 5th November 2011 (aged 85 years) in Mumbai, Maharashtra.

Nanaji Deshmukh

Nanaji Deshmukh born on 11 October 1916 in a small town of Hingoli in Maharashtra, represented Uttar Pradesh's Balrampur constituency in the Lok Sabha from 1977 to 1979.

Nanaji Deshmukh also served as a nominated member of the Rajya Sabha from 1999 to 2005.
Nanaji Deshmukh was honored with the Padma Vibhushan earlier.  
Nanaji Deshmukh also played a key role in the Jai Prakash (JP) movement against Emergency in 1974 and was instrumental in the formation of the Janata Party government in 1977.

Nanaji Deshmukh died at the age of 94 in the year 2010.


Latest Bharat Ratna Updates

» Daily Current Affairs 27th January 2019 GK GS Bulletins

» Government of India Confers Bharat Ratna Awards 2019: Winner Names

» Daily Current Affairs 26th January 2019 GK GS Bulletins

» Indian NDTV Journalist Ravish Kumar wins Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019

» Google Doodle Celebrates the 50th Anniversary of the 'Apollo 11' Moon Landing

» Femina Miss India 2019 winner is Suman Rao from Rajasthan