Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Dr. GS Reddy appointed as Secretary, Department of Defence R&D Chairman, DRDO



Dr. G Satheesh Reddy appointed as Secretary, Department of Defence R&D and Chairman, DRDO: Details, Profile, Career Services

The Appointments Committee of Cabinet (ACC) chaired by PM Narendra Modi has appointed distinguished missile scientist Dr. G Satheesh Reddy as Secretary of Department of Defence R&D (DDR&D) and Chairman of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO).

Dr. GS Reddy prior to this appointment was the scientific adviser to the defence minister and director general, Missiles & Strategic Systems (DG MSS).

Dr. GS Reddy (55 years of age) who hails from Nellore in Andhra Pradesh is well known for his significant contributions to indigenous design, development, deployment of diversified missiles and strategic systems, guided weapons, avionics technologies and for sustained efforts in the advancement of aerospace technologies & industries in India.

Dr. GS Reddy had graduated in electronics and communication engineering from JNTU, Anantapur, and received his MS & PhD from JNTU, Hyderabad. He joined Defence Research and Development Laboratory (DRDL), Hyderabad in 1986. Subsequently, he had joined Research Centre Imarat (RCI).

Dr. GS Reddy became Distinguished Scientist in September 2014 and was appointed as a scientific adviser to defence minister in May 2015. 

Dr. GS Reddy as DG of Missiles and Strategic Systems (DG, MSS), he had spearheaded Abdul Kalam Missile Complex Laboratories – ASL, DRDL and RCI, ITR, TBRL and other technical facilities. He also had led design and development of a wide range of tactical and strategic missile systems to attain complete self-sufficiency in missiles and initiated many projects to equip armed forces with state-of-the-art weapons and technologies.

Dr. GS Reddy also had played important role in invigorating Ballistic Missile Defence (BMD) programme and developed mission-critical technologies for the long-range Agni-5 missile. 


Latest Appointments Committee Of Cabinet (ACC) Updates

» Ashish Kumar Bhutani appointed as CEO of Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana: Details

» ACC: Ram Sewak Sharma re-appointed as TRAI chairperson till 2020 Details, Profile

» Daily Current Affairs 11th August 2018 GK GS Bulletins

» President Ram Nath Kovind Appoints new Governor for 7 States on 21st August 2018

» RBI Board: Government appoints S Gurumurthy, Satish Marathe as part-time directors

» Uday Kumar Varma appointed as BCCC member