Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

MHA orders 10 central agencies to access & inspect any computer and mobile resource



MHA orders 10 central agencies to access & inspect any computer and mobile resource: Details, Highlights

The Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has issued an order of authorizing 10 security and intelligence agencies of India to access & inspect any information stored in any computer for the purpose of monitoring, decrypting and the interception.

The 10 agencies include Intelligence Bureau, Narcotics Control Bureau, Enforcement Directorate, Central Board of Direct Taxes, Directorate of Revenue Intelligence;, Central Bureau of Investigation, National Investigation Agency Cabinet Secretariat (RAW), Directorate of Signal Intelligence (For service areas of Jammu & Kashmir, North-East and Assam only), and Commissioner of Police, Delhi.

The ministry has vested the authority on the agencies under Section 69 of the Information Technology Act, 2000 and Rule 4 of the Information Technology Procedure and Safeguards for Interception, Monitoring, and Decryption of Information) Rules, 2009.

The order mandates for a subscriber or service provider or any person in charge of the computer resource to extend technical assistance to the agencies.

Non-compliance will invite seven-year imprisonment and fine.



Latest Ministry Of Home Affairs Updates

» Home Ministry new Twitter account '@CyberDost' to spread awareness about cybercrimes

» India: Government approves renaming of 25 places

» Features of pencil portal And The various components of the pencil portal