Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Meghalaya Government Renames Dikkibandi Stadium After P A Sangma



Meghalaya Government Renames Dikkibandi Stadium After P A Sangma: Details, Highlights

The Dikkibandi Stadium at Dakopgre in Tura of Meghalaya which was earlier known as MP stadium will now be named after former Lok Sabha Speaker late P. A Sangma.

The decision was made by the state cabinet as per the recommendations made by state naming authority tasked with the job to name roads, and institutions after personalities.

Also apart from Dikkibandi stadium, a junction leading to AMPT road in Tura have been renamed after P A Sangma.

About P.A Sangma

Purno Agitok Sangma has served as the Speaker of the Lok Sabha and the Chief Minister of Meghalaya. He started his political career with the Congress party and represented the Tura constituency of Meghalaya in Lok Sabha multiple times.

P. A Sangma served as the Chief Minister of Meghalaya from 1988 to 1990. He formed the Nationalist Congress Party in 1999 along with  Sharad Pawar and Tariq Anwar.

P. A Sangma contested the elections for the post of President of India in 2012 and lost the elections to Pranab Mukherjee. PA Sangma died from cardiac arrest in New Delhi on 4 March 2016 at the age of 68.


Formation: 21 January 1972

Capital: Shillong

Largest City: Shillong

Districts: 11

Governor: Ganga Prasad

Chief Minister: Conrad K Sangma (NPP)

Official Language: English


Latest Meghalaya Updates

» Daily Current Affairs 22nd December 2018 GK GS Bulletins

» Meghalaya Government Launches Meghalaya Health Insurance Scheme (MHIS-IV)

» India International Cherry Blossom Festival 2018 Concludes In Shillong, Meghalaya

» PM Narendra Modi launches multiple development projects in Arunachal Pradesh

» Arunachal Pradesh Sela Tunnel Project Across Sela Pass

» Uttar Pradesh Budget 2019: Key Highlights