Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh becomes Union Territories of India: Key Changes



Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh becomes Union Territories of India

In a historic decision, Modi 2.0 government led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 5th August 2019, has scrapped Article 370 and Article 35A from Jammu and Kashmir- taking a special status of the state.

With this, Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh are new Union Territories of India.

Also, the number of union territories increased to 9 from 7 UTs and 28 States from 29 States in India

Jammu & Kashmir will be a Union Territory with a legislature while Ladakh will be a Union Territory without legislature.

Home Minister Amit Shah presented the Jammu and Kashmir State Reorganization Bill 2019 in the Rajya Sabha. 

Updated Union Territories of India

1. National Capital Territory of Delhi

2. Andaman and Nicobar Islands

3. Chandigarh

4. Dadra and Nagar Haveli

5. Daman and Diu

6. Lakshadweep

7. Puducherry

8. Ladakh

9. Jammu & Kashmir

Key Changes After Decision

Now Jammu & Kashmir will be a Union Territory.

People from anywhere in India will be able to buy a property.

Now any citizen of the country can settle in J&K.

No restriction on filing RTI

Now, it will not be for six years.

Only the National Flag will be there.

No separate constitution, law & order will be under the central government.

Ladakh will be a separate Union Territory without a legislature.

Now, state head will be Lieutenant Governor.


Latest Jammu And Kashmir Updates

» Modi 2.0 Cabinet approves J&K Reservation (Second Amendment) Bill 2019

» Bollywood Actress Zaira Wasim Profile, Early Life, Education, Career, Awards

» Daily Current Affairs 31st March 2019 GK GS Bulletins

» Personal Laws (Amendment) Bill 2018 Latest Updates, Details. Aim, Features

» FSSAI New Food Packaging Regulations Rules: Barring Use of Plastic Packaging

» Bill to amend the ST list of Arunachal Pradesh Approved