Latest GK GS

Niwari becomes the 52nd district of Madhya Pradesh

Niwari becomes the 52nd district of Madhya Pradesh: Details, Highlights

Madhya Pradesh Government has added the creation of new district Niwari. It will be the 52nd district of the state and came into effect from 1st October 2018.

The proposal to this effect was cleared by state Cabinet chaired by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

Niwari district has been carved out of the Tikamgarh district. It will include three tehsils of present Tikamgarh district viz. Niwari, Orchha, and Prithvipur. IAS officer Akshay Kumar Singh (2010-batch) will hold the interim charge as first District Collector of a new district.

The decision of forming a new district comes ahead of Madhya Pradesh assembly elections, which is scheduled to be held by year-end.

Madhya Pradesh

Capital: Bhopal

Largest City: Indore

Districts: 51 + Niwari = 52

Governor: Anandiben Patel 

Chief Minister: Shivraj Singh Chouhan



» Current Affairs 30th September 2018 Latest GK GS Bulletins

» ADB approved $150 mn loan for establishing first Global Skills Park in Madhya Pradesh

» Odisha, Andhra & MP are Best Performing States in Ease of Living Index Under Amrut

» CJI Dipak Misra Retirement landmark Decisions at Supreme court

» Sustainable Development Framework agreement b/w NITI Aayog and United Nations

» NITI Aayog & UN signed Sustainable Development Framework for 2018-2022