Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

India celebrates 36th winning anniversary of its first cricket world cup in 1983



25 June: India celebrates 36th winning anniversary of its first cricket world cup in 1983

Today on 25th June 2019, India celebrates the 36th winning anniversary of its first-ever cricket world cup in 1983 held in England & Wales.

India defeated that time world champions West Indies in the cricket world cup final at Lord's, England and lifting the prestigious world cup trophy.

Earlier, the West Indies had won the first two editions of the cricket world cup, held in 1975 and 1979.

India Vs West Indies Scorecard

Venue: Played at Lord's, London

Toss: West Indies, who chose to field first

India: 183/10 (54.4 Ov)

West Indies: 140/10 (52 Ov)

Result: India won by 43 runs & won the 1983 Prudential World Cup

Player of the match M Amarnath (India)

Indian Team (World Cup-1983)

1. Kapil Dev (captain)

2. Mohinder Amarnath (vice-captain)

3. Sunil Gavaskar

4. Balwinder Singh Sandhu

5. Dilip Vengsarkar

6. Kirti Azad

7. Krishnamachari Srikkanth

8. Madan Lal

9. Ravi Shastri

10. Roger Binny

11. Sandeep Patil

12. Sunil Valson

13. Syed Kirmani (wicketkeeper)

14. Yashpal Sharma (reserve wicketkeeper)

World Cup-1983

The World Cup 1983 tournament, held from 9 June -25 June in England and Wales, which saw participation from 8 countries. 

Qualifying teams included Australia, West Indies, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka, and Zimbabwe. 

The matches comprised 60 overs and were played in traditional white clothing and with red balls. They were all played during the day.


Latest World Cup Updates

» World Cup 2019: Rishabh Pant replaces injured Shikhar Dhawan in Indian squad

» Google Doodle Celebrates Beginning Of 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup On 7th June

» World Cup 2019: ICC Introduces New 'Criiio' Campaign: Details, Features, Aim

» Sri Lankan cricketer Kumar Sangakkara is first non-British President of MCC

» Virat Kohli is first Asian captain to win a Test in South Africa, England & Australia

» Sameer Verma won the title of the Syed Modi International Badminton Championship