Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

United Nations Human Rights Prize 2018 Winners List



United Nations Human Rights Prize 2018 Winners List: Details, Highlights

The United Nations Prize-2018 (UN Human Rights Prize) was declared recently by María Fernanda Espinosa Garcés, President of the 73rd Session of United Nations General Assembly.

The UN Human Rights Prize-2018 award ceremony will take place on 10th December 2018 on World Human Rights Day in New York.

Winners of the UN Human Rights Prize 2018 are:

1. Asma Jahangir (posthumously)- Pakistan's late lawyer & human rights activist

2. Rebeca Gyumi- A Tanzanian human rights activist

3. Joenia Wapichana- Brazil’s first indigenous lawyer

4. Front Line Defenders- A human rights organisation of Ireland

About United Nations Human Rights Prize 

The United Nations Prize in the Field of Human Rights is an honorary award given for outstanding achievement in human rights.

The UN Human Rights Prize was instituted by the UN General Assembly (UNGA) in 1966 and was awarded for the first time on December 10, 1968, on the twentieth anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. 

The UN Human Rights Prize is an opportunity not only to give public recognition to the achievements of the recipients themselves, but also to send a clear message to human rights defenders the world over that the international community is grateful for, and supports, their tireless efforts to promote all human rights for all.


Latest United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) Updates

» World Cities Day Celebrations On 31 October 2018 Theme, Details, Aim, History

» World Development Information Day Celebrations On 24th October: Details, Aim, History

» International Day of Rural Women On 15th October: 2018 Theme, Details, Aim, History

» Ministry of Culture: List of winners of Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony

» India won Commonwealth CAPAM Award 2018 for Public Administration

» Seoul Peace Prize: Establishment, History, Recognition, Winners, Facts