Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Arif Mohammad Khan is the new Governor of Kerala



Arif Mohammad Khan is the new Governor of Kerala: Details, Political Career, Highlights

President of India Ram Nath Kovind, has appointed Arif Mohammad Khan as the 22nd Governor of Kerala on 1st September 2019.

Arif Mohammad Khan will replace 'Palanisamy Sathasivam' who was the Governor of Kerala since 2014.

Arif Mohammad Khan (68-years-old) was born in the year 1951 in Bulandshahr, Uttar Pradesh, India.

Arif Mohammad Khan's political career began in his college days and has been the President of Aligarh Muslim University Student's Union in the year 1972-73 and also it's Secretary (1971-72).

Arif Mohammad Khan contested the first legislative assembly election from Siyana constituency of Bulandshahar on Bharatiya Kranti Dal but was defeated.

Arif Mohammad Khan joined the Indian National Congress (INC) party and was elected to the Lok Sabha in 1980 from Kanpur and 1984 from Bahraich.

Arif Mohammad Khan in 1986, quit the Indian National Congress due to differences over the passage of Muslim Personal Law Bill (against triple talaq) which was introduced by Rajiv Gandhi in the Lok Sabha.


Latest Kerala Updates

» Gokulam Kerala defeats Mohun Bagan to win Durand Cup 2019

» Department for Promotion of Industry has registered four new GI Tags

» Kerala Tops NITI Aayog's Health Index Followed By Andhra Pradesh and Maharashtra

» Bhagat Singh Koshyari is the new Governor of Maharashtra

» Tamilisai Soundararajan is the first Independent Governor of Telangana

» PK Sinha is new Officer on Special Duty 'OSD' in the PMO