Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

President Ram Nath Kovind Confers Vayoshreshtha Samman 2019



President Ram Nath Kovind Confers Vayoshreshtha Samman 2019

President Ram Nath Kovind confers ‘Vayoshreshtha Samman 2019’ on Eminent Senior Citizens & Institutions in recognition of their services towards the cause of elderly persons on 3 October 2019.

Vayoshreshtha Samman awards were conferred at a function organized by Union Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment in Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi.

Vayoshreshtha Samman is a scheme of awards that got instituted by Union Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment which have been upgraded to the status of National Awards.

Vayoshreshtha Samman awards are presented as part of the celebration of International Day of Older Persons (IDOP) on 1st October. The day is celebrated every year on 1st October since the year 2005.

Vayoshreshtha Samman awards main objectives are:

Showcasing the Government’s concern for senior citizens and its commitment towards them with the aim of strengthening their legitimate place in society.

Providing an opportunity for the younger generation to understand the contribution of the elderly in the building of society and nation.

Vayoshreshtha Samman awards are awarded to

Institutions which are involved in providing distinguished service for the cause of elderly persons (especially indigent senior citizens)

Eminent senior citizens in recognition of their service and achievements

Individuals from any part of the country

The recipients are drawn from diverse fields and nominations are invited from Governmental and Non-Governmental Agencies.


Latest President Of India Updates

» President Shankar Dayal Sharma: Birth, family, Education, Political Career, Death

» President Ram Nath Kovind honored with Croatia’s highest civilian award

» President Kovind Presents Rabindranath Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony Awards

» First Indian Payal Jangid receives 'Changemaker Award 2019' at New York

» Government of India Institutes New Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Unity Award

» 71st Primetime Emmy Awards 2019: Winners List