Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

Parliament's Winter Session will held from 11th December 2018 to 8th January 2019



Parliament's Winter Session will be held from 11th December 2018 to 8th January 2019: Details, Highlights

The Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA) has recommended convening of the winter session of Parliament from 11th December 2018 to 8th January 2019.

The CCPA was headed by Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and met in New Delhi and deliberated on the dates of the session.  

The Parliament winter session usually starts every year after the Monsoon Session in November. Earlier in the past two years consecutively, it begins in December. The session has been delayed this year (2018) due to assembly elections in five states.

About Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA)

CCPA is one of the six cabinet committees in function (as of 2016). It looks after progress after of government business in the Parliament.

CCPA is chaired by Union Home Minister, Rajnath Singh (2018)

CCPA other five cabinet committees are Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs, Cabinet Committee on Economic (CCEA), Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS), Cabinet Committee on Accommodation (CCA) and Appointments Committee of Cabinet (ACC). These five cabinet committees are chaired by Prime Minister.


Latest Parliament Updates

» The Enemy Property Act and Benefits to Government of India

» Ananth Kumar dies at 59 after long battling with cancer on 12th Nov 2018

» Constitution: Parliamentary System and Amendment Procedures

» Uttar Pradesh Cabinet approves renaming of Faizabad as Ayodhya

» Flipkart co-founder and CEO Binny Bansal resigns

» India, Indonesia launch their maiden naval exercise at Suraj Shakya Island