Latest GK GS

Updated By: LatestGKGS Desk

About UN Champions of the Earth Prize Award: Details, History



About UN Champions of the Earth Prize Award: Details, History, Highlights

The annual 'Champions of the Earth' prize is awarded to outstanding leaders from government, civil society and the private sector whose actions have had a positive impact on the environment.

The award is the UN’s highest environmental recognition celebrating exceptional figures from the public and private sectors and from civil society.

The awards were established in 2005 under the United Nations Environment Programme. Since then, they have recognized 84 laureates ranging from leaders of nations to grassroots activists in the categories of policy, science, business and civil society.

The awards also recognise 5-7 laureates annually and they are invited to an award ceremony to receive a trophy, give an acceptance speech and take part in a press conference. No financial awards are conferred.

In 2017, the 'Champions of the Earth' programme was expanded to include Young Champions of the Earth - a forward-looking prize for talented innovators, aged between18 and 30, who demonstrate outstanding potential to create positive environmental impact.


Latest Champions Of The Earth Updates

» PM Narendra Modi accorded United Nations's Champions of the Earth Award

» UNEP Champions of the Earth Award 2018 Winners for Contribution in Solar Energy

» UNEP Champions of The Earth award, history, features, categories, details

» About Primetime Emmy Awards: Details, Categories, History

» Ramon Magsaysay Award: establishment, features, history

» Fields Medal History, Features, Prize Money, Eligibility Criteria